As the Season Changes, the Biggest Question Is

What the hell am I going to wear today?

Jo An Fox-Wright Maddox
3 min read5 days ago

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

One of the best parts of living here in North Carolina is that for at least five, maybe six, months of the year, I know exactly what I’m wearing tomorrow — the same thing I wore yesterday and will wear every day: shorts, a T-shirt, and flip flops. My hardest decision is which one of the dozens of T-shirts I own will I choose?

This year, fall came over a weekend. Weeks of 90’s turned into weeks of 80’s, but the 70’s came quickly, and even more importantly, the lows went from the 60’s to the 50’s to the 40’s even faster.

It wasn’t jeans one day and shorts for the next couple, then jeans again for a day or two, then back to shorts. It was shorts on Saturday and jeans ever since.

Later, when winter sets in in January, it will be a couple of months of sweat pants, unless I leave the house. Then I wear jeans, even if my legs will be a little chilly.

But the top. What do I wear on top? Having lived in the North for 66 years, I have a wide array of choices. Is it warm enough for a long-sleeved T-shirt? It might be during the afternoon, but morning and evening, I’ll need a sweater or light jacket. Or is it a cool wind blowing, so I need a light thermal shirt? How about velvet or velour? Then there are the…

--

--

Jo An Fox-Wright Maddox

Former English professor ponders life, love, and how to leap tall buildings in a single bound.